About Us

What is the Saanich Peninsula Community Foundation?

The Saanich Peninsula Community Foundation (the “Foundation”) is a society incorporated under the Societies Act of British Columbia committed to improving the quality of life on the Saanich Peninsula by promoting and increasing responsible, effective and accessible philanthropy. Through its grants programme, the Foundation supports activities in the areas of health and social services, arts and culture, education, conservation and in recreation which benefit the residents of the Saanich Peninsula.

The Foundation encourages gifts to a permanent community fund dedicated to benefit Saanich Peninsula residents. The gifts, both small and large, are pooled and invested. The investment returns are distributed annually to worthy Saanich Peninsula charitable organizations. The capital of the permanent community fund grows with each new gift, generating increased returns to be gifted to a wide range of local community initiatives for years to come. Contributions of $25 or more entitles donors to a charitable tax receipt from the Foundation’s approved fund administrator, the Victoria Foundation.

Who is the Saanich Peninsula Community Foundation?

The Foundation is run by a volunteer non-partisan Board of Directors, all of whom are community minded Peninsula residents. The Foundation has no paid staff.


Mission Statement

To enrich the quality of life for Saanich Peninsula Residents by encouraging donations to the Foundation, investing the donations in a permanent endowment fund administered by the Victoria Foundation , identifying worthy local charitable initiatives, and making annual disbursements of interest to these charities.

2013/2014 Board of Directors


  • Viola Van de Ruyt (President)


  • Dominique Alford (Secretary)
  • Doug Guedes
  • Scott Hoadley
  • Robert Hope
  • Elaine Hughesman (Treasurer)
  • Drew Irwin
  • Debbie Sherwood
  • Clive Tanner